Golden Owl Award

As the No. 1 farm insurer,1 Nationwide is proud of its agricultural heritage and long-standing support of the greater agricultural community, including the National FFA Organization and FFA chapters across the country. The Golden Owl Award allows us to also extend our support to agricultural educators who devote countless hours, and often their own resources, to positively impact the lives of their students.

With the Golden Owl Award, students, fellow teachers and other supporters in California, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and South Dakota can nominate their favorite agricultural teacher and summarize what makes him or her the best in their state.

Nominees can win the distinction of being their state’s Agricultural Educator of the Year and the following prizes:

  • $500 and an engraved plaque for each honoree2,3
  • $3,000 and the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy to each state’s grand prize winner2,3 (Agricultural Educator of the Year)

In conjunction with the Golden Owl Award, Nationwide is donating $5,000 to each participating state’s FFA to further support the personal and professional growth of students, teachers and advisors alike.

Nationwide’s partners

The Golden Owl Award is the result of a partnership between Nationwide, California FFA, California Farm Bureau, Illinois FFA, Illinois Association of Vocational Agriculture Teachers, Farm Credit Illinois, AgCredit, Indiana FFA, Farm Credit Mid-America, Iowa FFA Foundation, Kansas FFA Foundation, Missouri FFA Foundation, Nebraska Agricultural Educators Association, Nebraska FFA Foundation, New York FFA, New York Farm Bureau, Ohio FFA, Ohio Farm Bureau, Pennsylvania FFA, Pennsylvania Farm Bureau, Compeer Financial and South Dakota FFA Foundation.

[1] Source: A.M Best Market Share Report 2022.
[2] In accordance with Ohio law, cash prizes in Ohio are awarded to the winners’ school ag programs.
[3] Because of additional funding by AgCredit and Farm Credit Mid-America, cash prizes on behalf of the Ohio honorees and grand prize winners are $1,500 and $5,000, respectively.
The FFA emblem is a service mark of the National FFA Organization and is used with permission. All rights reserved.

Get more information

Tractor icon

Learn about Nationwide agribusiness insurance

Person icon

Find a farm agent

Email icon

Subscribe to the Ag Insight Center email newsletter