No-fault insurance states
Get an Auto Insurance Quote

Retrieve Saved Quote Call 1-877-On Your Side® (1-877-669-6877) Anytime

Find an Agent

Advanced Search Call 1-877-On Your Side®
(1-877-669-6877) Anytime

What states have no-fault insurance?

States with no-fault insurance

No-fault insurance, sometimes referred to as personal injury protection insurance (PIP), can help cover you and your passengers’ medical expenses, loss of income and more in the event of an accident, no matter who is found “at fault.” 

Unlike other types of car insurance, no-fault insurance is a required coverage in certain states. So, which states have no-fault insurance? Check out this list of 18 states that require their drivers to purchase no-fault / PIP coverage, as of November 2016:

  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky*
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey*
  • New York
  • North Dakota 
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania* 
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington

Please keep in mind that these laws are subject to change, so it’s best to check with a local agent to confirm the type of coverage your state requires.

If you live outside of these 18 states, you live in what is called a “tort state.” In tort states, the insurance company of the individual found to be at fault pays for all damage costs in the event of an accident.

Do you live in one of the above no-fault states? If so, you need no-fault insurance to drive legally and protect yourself on the road. 

Learn more about what no-fault insurance is and what it covers, or start your personal injury protection quote today with Nationwide. 

Share Article