coffee cup and newspaper lying on a table

No-fault insurance, sometimes referred to as personal injury protection insurance (PIP), can help cover you and your passengers’ medical expenses, loss of income and more in the event of an accident, no matter who is found “at fault.” 

Unlike other types of car insurance, no-fault insurance is a required coverage in certain states. So, which states have no-fault insurance? Check out this list of 18 states that require their drivers to purchase no-fault / PIP coverage, as of November 2016:

  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky*
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey*
  • New York
  • North Dakota 
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania* 
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington

Please keep in mind that these laws are subject to change, so it’s best to check with a local agent to confirm the type of coverage your state requires.

If you live outside of these 18 states, you live in what is called a “tort state.” In tort states, the insurance company of the individual found to be at fault pays for all damage costs in the event of an accident.

Do you live in one of the above no-fault states? If so, you need no-fault insurance to drive legally and protect yourself on the road. 

Learn more about what no-fault insurance is and what it covers, or start your personal injury protection quote today with Nationwide.

*Kentucky, New Jersey and Pennsylvania are known as “optional no-fault” or “choice no-fault” states. In these states, drivers choose whether they will be held to a no-fault system.

Insurance terms, definitions and explanations are intended for informational purposes only and do not in any way replace or modify the definitions and information contained in individual insurance contracts, policies or declaration pages, which are controlling. Such terms and availability may vary by state and exclusions may apply.