Car insurance laws in Texas
As a resident of the Lone Star state, you are required to carry car insurance and purchase coverage before you register your vehicle. Insurance may also vary from city to city.
Texas teen driving laws
Young drivers are eager to get out on the road and experience that kind of freedom for the first time in their lives. To ensure safety on the road for everyone, it’s important to become familiar with the laws for new drivers in Texas.
New drivers can apply for their learn license once they turn 15, followed by a provisional license at 16 after they have completed drivers education, passed the Texas Teen Driver course, obtained a passing score on their driving test, and have held their learner license for at least six months. Once a driver turns 18, all restrictions are lifted. You can learn more about being a young Texas driver here.
Minimum insurance requirements for Texas
When you buy Texas car insurance coverage, you’ll need at least the required state minimum amount: $25,000/$50,000/$25,000. So in the event of an accident, you’ll get $25,000 coverage for bodily injury to one person per accident, $50,000 coverage for bodily injury to two or more people per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
As a resident of Texas, there are two types of liability coverage your insurance policy must include: property damage and bodily injury.
- Property damage safeguards your assets if you are found legally responsible for a covered accident. It covers certain damage you may cause to the property or vehicle of another party.
- Bodily injury safeguards your assets if you’re found legally responsible for a covered accident, including certain expenses associated with bodily harm sustained by the other parties.
Liability coverage also provides for your legal defense expenses if you are sued as a result of a covered accident.