Car insurance laws in Pennsylvania
As a resident of Pennsylvania, you are required to carry car insurance and purchase coverage before you register your vehicle. Insurance coverage and cost may also vary depending on where within the state you live. Before you get started, here are some important factors to keep in mind:
Pennsylvania is a state where carrying no-fault insurance is mandatory. If you happen to get into a car accident, no-fault insurance will reimburse you for any hospital or medical expenses, wage losses from an inability to work, and if necessary, any funeral costs. No-fault insurance will cover these expenses regardless of who is responsible for the accident. It does not, however, cover any damage to your car.
Pennsylvania teen driving laws
Young drivers are eager to get out on the road and experience that kind of freedom for the first time in their lives. To ensure safety on the road for everyone, it’s important to become familiar with the laws for new drivers in Pennsylvania.
New drivers can apply for their learner’s license once they turn 16. They can then receive their restricted driver’s license once they have completed six months of driving, including 65 hours of supervised driving, 10 hours at night, and 5 hours during inclement weather. Once a driver turns 17 years and 6 months, all restrictions are lifted as long as they have had their junior license for 12 months, have not crashed their car, and have not received any convictions. You can learn more about the rules a young driver in Pennsylvania must follow here.
Minimum insurance requirements for Pennsylvania
When you buy Pennsylvania auto insurance coverage, you’ll need at least the required state minimum amount: $15,000/$30,000/$5,000. This means that in the event of an accident, if you are at fault, you are covered up to $15,000 for bodily injury for each person involved in an incident, with a total maximum of $30,000 per incident. It also covers up to $5,000 for damage to another person’s property.
As a Pennsylvania driver, there are two types of liability coverage your insurance policy must include:
- Property damage safeguards your assets if you are found legally responsible for a covered accident. It covers certain damage you may cause to the property or vehicle of another party.
- Bodily injury safeguards your assets if you’re found legally responsible for a covered accident, including certain expenses associated with bodily harm sustained by the other parties.
Liability coverage also provides for your legal defense if a suit is brought against you as a result of a covered accident.
Limited or full tort coverage
Choose from limited for full tort coverage:
- Limited tort limits the right for the insured to seek financial compensation for pain and suffering due to injury in an accident.
- Full tort allows the insured to seek financial compensation for pain and suffering due to injury from an auto accident when you are not at fault.
Pays for necessary medical expenses for you or others covered under the policy, no matter who is at fault.