Presented by Nationwide® and the Iowa FFA Foundation, the Golden Owl Award recognizes ag educators across Iowa for their tremendous contributions to helping the next generation of agricultural leaders.

From August 1, 2018 through November 16, 2018, students, fellow teachers and other supporters nominated their favorite ag teacher and summarized what makes them the best in the state. After evaluation of the nominations received, we are proud to announce the seven finalists of the 2018-2019 Golden Owl Award.

Each honoree listed below received a $500 cash prize and entry into the final selection phase for the chance to win the distinction of Iowa Ag Educator of the Year, the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy and $3,000 from Nationwide to help fund future education efforts.

For more information, see our award rules.

Melissa Hageman
Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor
NE Region
South Winneshiek High School
Calmar, Iowa
Brad Taylor
Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor
NC Region
Roland-Story High School
Story City, Iowa

Randy Kroksh
Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor
NW Region
Akron-Westfield High School
Akron, Iowa

Jacob Hunter
Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor
SE Region
North Scott High School
Eldridge, Iowa
Matthew Eddy
Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor
SC Region
Southeast Polk High School
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Steve Sonntag
Ag Teacher and FFA Advisor
SW Region
Southwest Valley High School
Corning, Iowa
Robert Martin
Professor of Ag Education
Postsecondary District
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa

The Farm Bureau, FB, and the FB National logo are trademarks of American Farm Bureau Federation and used in permission under license by Nationwide.